This Book Covers:
Activity Completion, Availability, Common Module Settings, Grade, Group Submission Settings, Notifications, Submission Settings, and Submission Types
|Course:||learnonline Help (Staff)|
|Printed by:||Guest user|
|Date:||Thursday, 14 November 2019, 8:23 AM|
Table of contents
This book is designed to help you with changing the settings of your Activity, Resource, or Block. Different settings can be found when using different activities, so select the help for the specific setting you have questions about how to configure. We have help available on the following settings
- Activity Completion
- Common Module Settings
- Feedback Types
- Group submission settings
- Restrict Access
- Submission Settings
- Submission Types
- Where this block appears
Activity completion refers to a check-box on the main course page for students, it is shown next to each activity with the Completion tracking option enabled. It is an easy way for students to see what they have completed and what they haven't, and may even provide a little encouragement for them to get things done.
A) When choosing completion tracking, we have 3 options;
Do not indicate activity completion: This will disable "Activity Completion" for the activity.
Students can manually mark the activity as completed: This means that the student will be able to press on the activity completion check-box in the main course page to tick this activity as completed.
Show activity as complete when conditions are met: This will enable the rest of the options for this section. Require view, Require grade, and Expect completed on. The student will not have the choice to manually tick the activity completion check-box, and will have to complete the requirements, which we define next.
B) If we select this option it will mean that the students' activity completion check-box will not be ticked until the student has viewed the activity.
C) Here we have two options.
Student must receive a grade to complete this activity: If we select this option it will mean that the activity completion check-box will not be ticked until the student has had a grade returned to them for this activity.
Student must submit this activity to complete it: If we select this option, the student does not need to wait for a grade to be returned to have the activity completion check-box ticked, they only need to submit.
D) This date is for when we expect the activity to be completed by. It will not show to the students however is useful as it will appear in the Activity Completion Report.
A) If enabled, students will not be able to submit before this date, this will not affect their ability to enter the activity link and view the description.
B) If enabled, this sets the due date of the activity.
C) If enabled, students will be unable to submit after this date unless an extension has been granted.
D) Ticking this option means that the students will be able to see the activity description, even when the assignment is not yet open for submission.
Common Module Settings
Common module settings allow us to select whether an activity is hidden, and if only one student or one portion of students are able to see the activity/resource.
- Group: A group is made of a chosen subset of students.
- Grouping: A grouping is made of a chosen subset of groups.
A) This sets whether the activity/resource is hidden or not, it is the same as opening or closing the eye on the main course page.
C) Group mode allows us to select how we wish to partition the activity/resource.
- No groups allow us to have the activity shown only to one grouping of students, with all groups within that grouping accessing the same information.
- Seperate groups allow us to have the activity/resource shown to only one grouping of students, with the groups within the grouping shown seperate copies. For example a forum shown to a particular grouping, would have a different forum for each group within the grouping...
A) If ticked, this allows markers to give the student a comment on their submission.
B) If ticked, this allows markers to create manual submissions in bulk.
C) If ticked, this allows markers to upload a file back to the student.
D) If ticked, this allows markers to download a file which they can use to mark, and then upload it back to gradebook to apply the marks.
E) If ticked, this allows markers to apply and remove a "Zero mark" to students.
A) This is what you wish to mark your students out of. This will not effect the weighting of an assignment and their grade is automatically converted to the weighting percentage.
B) Choose from Simple direct grading (similar to moodle 1.9), a Marking guide, or a Rubric. Please see the Marking guide and rubric help for more information.
C) This setting controls the category in which this activity's grades are placed in the gradebook TODO.
D) This option hides the identity of the student from the marker. Once submissions have been made to the activity this option can not be changed.
E) TODO eg. What is the marking workflow process?
F) Enabling this option allows you to allocate markers to students or groups of students. This option is can only be selected if the marking workflow option is chosen.
Group Submission Settings
A) If this option is set to Yes then students will be able to submit as groups, all students will share a submission and any changes to that submission can be seen by the other students in the group.
B) If this option is set to yes, all students will have to submit on their own behalf, even though they are a group.
C) This allows us to select custom groups for students, simply select the grouping that holds the student groups and their submissions will be together as a group.
A) If this option is set to Yes, then staff will receive an email alert whenever an assignment is submitted. The staff can be chosen in step 3.
B) If this option is set to Yes, then staff will receive an email alert whenever an assignment is submitted past the due date. The staff can be chosen in step 3. This option can only be changed when option 1 is set to No.
C) Enter the email addresses of staff to receive notifications, separated by semi-colons (;).
A) If this is set to Yes, student will have to press a submit button to mark their assignment as final, allowing them to keep a draft version on the system.
B) Never: The student submission can never be reopened for new submission
Manually: The student submission can be reopened by a teacher
Automatically until pass: The student submission will automatically reopen until they achieve the pass grade.
C) The maximum number of attempts that a student can make on a submission, this may be used if option B is set to Manually, or Automatically until pass.
A) If Online text is ticked, students can write something in a text box to be included with submission.
B) If File submissions is ticked, students are able to upload a file with their submission, this enables options D and E.
C) If Submission comments is ticked, they can leave a comment along with their submission, this may be so that they could request feedback, or to give instruction in the case of a complex submission.
D) Decide how many files a student is allowed to submit.
E) Decide what the maximum file size is that students can submit, please note submissions over 20mb, can not be marked by turnitin.
Where this block appears
A) This tell us where the block was originally created.
B) This determines what pages the block will be displayed on. Any page means that it will be shown on all pages within the course.
C) This determines whether the block will show on the left or right side of the page by default.
D) This determines in what order the block will appear on the page, compared to other blocks, with -10 being at the top of the page.