Common Module Settings
The options outlined below are available in the settings of most activities and resources within learnonline.
They can be found by:
- On the course homepage, Turn editing on.
- Navigate to the item in your course that you want to edit
- Click Edit on the right-hand side of the activity or resource
- Select the 'Edit settings' option from the drop down.
Common Module Settings
Please note that Group mode and Grouping are only available for activities and not resources.
There are three options you can choose from for availability of all activities and resources in learnonline.
- Show on course page: the assessment is available to students.
- Hide from students: the assessment is not available to students.
- Make available but not shown on course page: a link to the assessment must be provided from elsewhere, such as from a page resource, it would still be listed in the gradebook.
This is not a required field however setting an ID number provides a way of identifying the activity or resource for purposes such as grade calculation.
This option is where you dictate if the activity is one that requires students to work in groups or by themselves. There are three options available:
- No groups - This allows all students to access the same information.
- Separate groups - Each group member can only see their own group, others are invisible. For example a forum would have a different area for each group within the grouping and discussions are private to each individual group.
- Visible groups - Each group member works in their own group, but can also see other groups. For example within a forum again, there would be a different area for each group within the grouping with discussions editable only by group members but the content is visible by all groups.
A grouping is a collection of groups within a course. Access to resources by members of different groups within the grouping depends on the Group mode setting discussed above, determined by whether the task is individual, course wide or enabling group members to work together.
Once you've finished editing the settings, remember to click either Save and return to course or Save and display if you want to preview the item.