Assessing students

Ask us
 Tell us  Find us 

The Dreyfus model of skill acquisition

The Dreyfus model of skills acquisition is based on a acquiring a skill by means of instruction and experience. In this model, the student normally passes through five developmental stages which we designate:

  • novice
  • competence
  • proficiency
  • expertise
  • mastery

As the student becomes skilled, he/she depends less on abstract principles, and more on concrete experience, and looks at the task environment in a different way. 

Adapted from


Interesting resources